American bulldog is in the foundation stock service

Foundation Stock Service What You Need to Know

The Foundation Stock Service

The American Kennel Club (AKC) recognized 197 dog breeds as of February 2021. You might think that is more than enough. However, there are probably hundreds of dog breeds worldwide that the AKC does not recognize. The  AKC provides a pathway for dog breeds to become recognized by maintaining the Foundation Stock Service.
A breed that is officially recognized by the American Kennel Club is able to compete fully and at the highest levels in AKC-sanctioned dog shows, and it has one designated national “parent club” that is the sole steward of its standard—the official breed description used as a blueprint by breeders and judges alike.

How Does a Dog Breed Become AKC Recognized?

There are 72 dog breeds included in the AKC’s Foundation Stock Service (FSS) in 2022. The AKC’s purpose for the FSS is to provide a way for breeders to keep records as they develop breeds that may qualify for full recognition.

What is a Foundation Dog

Foundation Stock Services includes the Bolognese.
Once a dog breed has established some following in the United States, the AKC requires a minimum of 150 dogs with three generations and at least one club to represent the breed. WHEN THOSE REQUIREMENTS ARE MET, the AKC moves the dog breed to the Miscellaneous Class. Dog breeds may remain in the Miscellaneous Class indefinitely before gaining full recognition by the AKC.

Dogs in the Foundation Stock Service

  1. Alaskan Klee Kai (United States)
  2. American Bulldog  (United States)
  3. American Leopard Hound (United States)
  4. Appenzeller Sennenhund  (Switzerland)
  5. Australian Kelpie (Australia)
  6. Australian Stumpy Tail Cattle Dog (Australia)
  7. Barbado da Terceira (Portugal)
  8. Basset Fauve de Bretagne
  9. Bavarian Mountain Scent Hound
  10. Bohemian Shepherd
  11. Bolognese
  12. Braque du Bourbonnais
  13. Braque Francais Pyrenean
  14. Broholmer
  15. Carolina Dog
  16. Catahoula Leopard Dog
  17. Caucasian Shepherd
  18. Central Asian Shepherd
  19. Croatian Sheepdog
  20. Czechoslovakian Vlcak
  21. Deutscher Wachtelhund
  22. Drentsche Patrijshond
  23. Drever
  24.  Estrela Mountain Dog
  25. Eurasier
  26.  French Spaniel
  27. German Longhaired Pointer
  28. German Spitz
  29. Hamiltonstovare
  30. Hanoverian Scenthound
  31. Hokkaido
  32. Hovawart
  33.  Deutscher Jagdterrier
  34. Japanese Akita Inu
  35. Japanese Spitz
  36. Japanese Terrier
  37.  Jindo
  38. Kai Ken
  39. Karelian Bear Dog
  40. Kishu Ken
  41. Kromfohrlander
  42. Lapponian Herder
  43. Mountain Cur
  44. Perro de Presa Canario
  45. Porcelaine
  46. Portuguese Pointer
  47. Portuguese Sheepdog
  48. Pudelpointer
  49. Pyrenean Mastiff
  50. Rafeiro do Alentejo
  51. Romanian Carpathian Shepherd
  52. Romanian Mioritic Shepherd
  53. Russkaya Tsvetnaya Bolonka
  54. Schapendoes
  55. Segugio Italiano
  56. Shikoku
  57. Slovakian Wirehaired Pointer
  58.  Slovensky Cuva
  59.  Slovensky Kopov
  60. Spanish Mastiff
  61. Stabyhoun
  62. Swedish Lapphund
  63. Taiwan Dog
  64. Thai Ridgeback
  65. Tornjak
  66. Tosa
  67. Transylvanian Hound
  68. Treeing Tennessee Brindle
  69. Volpino Italiano
  70. Wetterhoun
  71. Working Kelpie
  72. Yakutian Laika

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the AKC Foundation Stock Service?

The AKC Foundation Stock Service (FSS) program by the American Kennel Club (AKC) allows purebred dog breeds to be registered and tracked before they are eligible for full AKC recognition.

What is the purpose of the AKC FSS?

The primary objective of the AKC FSS is to maintain records and pedigrees of breeds that the AKC does not yet recognize. It serves as a step toward potential AKC recognition by documenting a breed’s history and registration and preserving its genetic diversity.

How does a breed become recognized by the AKC?

To become an AKC-recognized breed, a breed must gain enough popularity and demonstrate stable breeding practices. The FSS acts as an intermediate step where breeders and owners can establish a breed-specific club, maintain a sufficient population, and document a breed’s lineage and history.

Can dogs registered under the FSS participate in AKC events?

Yes, dogs registered under the FSS program can participate in various AKC events, such as performance trials, companion events, and certain breed-specific events. However, they cannot compete in conformation events until they achieve full AKC recognition.

How long does it take for a breed to gain full AKC recognition?

The timeline for a breed to gain full AKC recognition can vary. It depends on factors like the breed’s popularity, the stability of its breeding population, and the efforts of breeders and owners to meet AKC requirements. The process can take several years or even decades.

What benefits does AKC FSS registration provide for breeders and owners?

By registering a breed under the FSS, breeders, and owners gain access to AKC resources and support. They receive official AKC documentation, access to health and genetic testing programs, networking opportunities, and guidance from AKC staff to help establish and promote their breed.

Can the breed standards of FSS-registered breeds differ from AKC-recognized ones?

Yes, breeds in the AKC FSS are not yet fully recognized, and their breed standards might still be under development or subject to modification. As a breed progresses towards recognition, the AKC will collaborate with breed clubs to establish a standardized breed standard.

Are FSS-registered dogs considered purebred?

Yes, dogs registered under the AKC FSS are considered purebred. The FSS registration tracks and maintains the breed’s lineage and pedigree, ensuring the preservation of the breed’s heritage and genetic integrity.

Can owners of FSS-registered dogs change their dog’s registration category?

If a breed gains full AKC recognition, owners of FSS-registered dogs can transfer their registration status to the AKC’s fully recognized breed category.

Can non-AKC-registered dogs be registered under the FSS?

No, the AKC FSS program is specifically for registering purebred dogs and breeds that are not yet AKC-recognized. Dogs with non-AKC or mixed-breed backgrounds are not eligible for registration under the FSS.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply